Lose weight with medical monitoring

Doctor Frédéric Germain specialized in dietetics in Toulouse, will accompany and advise you in order to become fit again and to feel good in your body.

 

When dealing with excess weight, it is important to take matters into your own hands in order to lose extra kilos. The first step in order to not be careless about your health is to make an appointment with a doctor specialized in nutrition. Acting like a “nutrition coach”, he will offer you advice in his position of healthcare professional in order to help you reach your weight loss objective. Your doctor, through dialogue and his medical knowledge, will be able to diagnose an excess weight and to offer you a personalized follow-up according to the specificities of your gender, age, activity, etc.

 

The ABC of weight loss means above all a balanced diet. Quality and diversity are the keywords of a healthy diet. Learn to eat better by creating varied food menus low on calories. The gustative pleasure must not be altered; it is why it is important to indulge yourself without losing of sight the final objective: lose weight.

 

We will pay particular attention to the supermarket step. According to the menus defined by the doctor, you will scrupulously make your shopping list beforehand. The choice of food will determine the plates’ content therefore this crucial aspect should not be neglected.

 

Obviously we will favor fresh vegetables and fruit in order to avoid deficiencies and to stock up on vitamins. They are the keystones of a slimming diet, because they are low on calories.

 

Moreover, hydration is one of the keystones of a successful diet. Water consumption favors the elimination of waste matter and plays an important part in the body’s well-being. Water is the most important nutrient in the human body. You need to drink fluids regularly during the entire day. In case of hunger pangs, the fact of drinking a big glass of water allows to diminish the hunger sensation.

 

And then there is no secret: in order to lose weight, you need to move. Physical activity favors weight loss success. Not only that it tones up the body and it improves cardiac performance, but the practice of a regular physical activity will also allow to burn calories. Long activities are to be privileged against short and intense efforts. Swimming, jogging, biking and fast walking are excellent fat burners.

 

“All things come to him who waits”: you need to be patient all along the diet; the efforts will finally pay off. A diet is not a speed race; it is preferable to lose weight progressively then to give up to the sirens of drastic diets that make you regain weight as fast as you lost it. The most important thing is to stabilize the weight loss and to durably maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Weight gain causes

A lot of men and women are confronted with weight gain issues. Women are often more sensitive because they are generally more careful with the way they look than men are.

 

In a woman’s life, several factors can lead to a sudden weight gain. Before beginning to fight against these extra kilos, you need to understand the causes of excess weight in order to act accordingly. The role of the nutritionist and of the dietician is to determine the origin of the excess weight in order to provide his patient with an adapted solution.

 

In women, hormones role in weight gain is often neglected. Nonetheless, it is one of the major causes of women’s excess weight. The body is subject to a hormonal cycle: the arrival of menstruations, contraceptive changes, menopause, etc. All these hormonal variations can make a considerable difference. In this case, the menopause is a particularly difficult period because it often accompanied by weight gain. Moreover, women subject to hormone imbalance often suffer of excess weight.

 

Other factors such as contraceptives or pregnancy can impact the figure. Furthermore, certain contraceptive pills have both an influence on the hormonal cycle and on appetite.

 

Undeniably, pregnancy leads to weight gain and the coming baby modifies the body. Sometimes, women give in to a certain diet carelessness during their pregnancy and gain more kilos than they should. If it’s true that pregnancy weight varies considerably from one woman to another, it is nonetheless essential not to be careless from a nutritional point of view. Most of all, you should not hesitate to see your nutritionist during the pregnancy. He will help the patient to adopt a balanced diet while monitoring her weight gain.

 

Finally, in order to understand a sudden or increasing weight gain, we often need to look in our plates.

 

Diet plays a decisive role. Lunch breaks too short, stress, junk food, ready-made meals, all factors that are harmful for our diet. An unbalanced diet inevitably leads to weight gain. Without going to the opposite extreme with draconian diets, it is fundamental to eat well in order to stay physically and mentally fit. In this case, turning towards a dietician allows to rebalance your diet habits in order to get back in shape.

 

A change in lifestyle can also be at the origin of extra kilos. When stopping sports, there is a risk of weight gain linked to a decrease in the caloric expenditure. In order to compensate for this, it is essential to modulate the energy intake and to correlate it with energy expenditure. Regular practice of sports prevents fat storage and helps you to stay fit.

 

Other factors also have a physical impact on our body: professional failure, frustration or feelings of guilt can lead to an increase in appetite. Weight gain can thus be caused by psychological issues. In this particular case, psychotherapy can help to better control your urges and drives to eat frequently.

 

Sometimes the cause is genetic: the tendency to grow corpulent can be partially linked to heredity. Thus, for some persons it will be more difficult to lose weight than for others or they will have a tendency to put on weight.

 

Finally, successive express diets lead to weight cycling; what we call the yo-yo effect. Genuine enemies for the scales and for health, we are in the presence of drastic diets that translate by a dramatic weight loss that does not last.

 

Apart from its harmful effects on health, excess weight leads to unsightly physical signs like skin loosening or cellulite appearance, all women’s nightmare.

 

If some women are subject to weight gain more than others, it is nevertheless not a fatality. The role of the nutritionist doctor as healthcare professional is to help you retrieve an ideal weight durably thanks to adapted solutions.

 

Doctor Frédéric Germain, nutritionist doctor in Toulouse, holding an Inter-University Diploma in Nutrition will see you in his office for a personalized consultation.

See also

Micro-nutrition
Slimming diet
Balanced diet

The good food for our body

Doctor Frédéric Germain in Toulouse holds an Inter-University Diploma in Nutrition. He presents the main lines of a balanced diet in order to eat better and to lose weight.

Certain foods need to be privileged during a diet. They help to lose weight; they prevent deficiencies and have a lot of benefits for health.

 

Recently, “nutraceuticals” invaded supermarkets’ displays. Neologism resulted from the mix between “nutrition” and “pharmaceutical”, the nutraceuticals are reach in nutrients. You can find industrial nutraceuticals issued from the food-processing industry such as, for example, foods enriched with Omega-3s or live yogurts. Nonetheless, we can also find a lot of natural nutraceuticals whose benefits for health have been proven scientifically: onion, cauliflower, tomatoes, soya beans, cranberry juice and honey are some of them.

 

In order to fight excess weight without suffering of sudden bouts of exhaustion, eat foods rich in vitamins, minerals (calcium, magnesium, etc.) and in trace elements (iron, iodine, etc.): broccolis, peppers, Brussels sprouts, melons, apricots, grapes, carrots, nuts, wheat germs, 0% yogurts, etc.

 

Furthermore, Omega-3s are strongly advised. They are naturally present in vegetal oils (nut oil, linseed oil, colza oil), in dry fruits and oily fish, such as salmon or mackerel. Widely used in the Mediterranean diet, they provide a feeling of satiety just after the meal.

 

In addition to their multiple benefits for health, most of these foods are genuine beauty partners well known for their antioxidant power: a miraculous solution against dull hair and to restore a peaches and cream complexion. Eating better, feeling good about yourself and regaining fitness; it is possible thanks to individual coaching.

Diet advice

The different diets advocate simple advice for a healthy life:

 

  • Eat as varied as possible or make sure that all food groups are represented in your diet.
  • Learn to eat less sugar, but also less salt, because salt increases the feeling of hunger.
  • A low consumption of salt reduces the risks of cardiovascular events.
  • Have 3 real meals a day and a snack in the afternoon, if possible.
  • Have a real breakfast that must provide 20% of the daily calorie requirements.
  • Have a lighter meal in the evening. It should represent less than 30% of the calories consumed during the day.
  • Favor dietary fibers that reduce the appetite and help to control the amount of calories. It is recommended to eat 25 to 35 grams of fibers per day (3 fruits, 4 vegetables, 5 whole-grain cereals)
  • Know how to choose your food. It is recommended to eat fish, minimum 2 to 3 times à week, raw and cooked vegetables at every meal. Meat or fish can be replaced by eggs or cheese at one meal. Proteins must represent the most important part in a meal because they satisfy the appetite the best and they provide stable energy. In order to lose weight without starving yourself, proteins should represent at least 20% of total calories.
  • Eat at least 5 portions of fruit and vegetables (fresh, frozen or potted) a day. They are low in calories and filled with antioxidants, fibers and water and have a high capacity of satisfying the appetite.
  • Also, eat dairy products at least 3 times a day in the form of milk, yogurt and cheese.
  • Reduce quantities and only serve yourself once. Learn not to serve yourself several times.
  • Drink enough water, meaning 1 to 1.5 liters of liquid a day under the form of water, herbal tea or vegetable broth.
  • Limit alcoholic and sweet drinks that are rich in calories.
  • Do regular physical activity. Even moderated physical activity helps burning the extra calories.
  • In what concerns habits to get used to, it is recommended to: weigh yourself once a week using the same scales in the same conditions, avoid skipping meals, do nothing else during meals and take the time to chew. Indeed, chewing duration has an important role in digestion.

 

Eating slow and without stress allows to rediscover or discover food with a more intense pleasure and thus to consume smaller quantities, while sending the organism a satiety signal. In case of a slimming diet, it is important to inform your doctor of your desire to lose weight and of the diet chosen. Indeed, the doctor will prevent you from making certain errors and will help you with your diet by determining the number of calories to consume in order to avoid feeling hungry during the day. Satisfying your appetite means that the calorie requirements of each meal have been respected.

Food groups Recommendations

 

Vegetables and fruit:

 

  • Eat at least one dark green and one orange vegetable a day.
  • Favor vegetables and fruit cooked with little or no fat, sugar or salt.
  • Favor vegetables and fruit to juices.

 

Cereals:

 

  • Eat at least half of your cereal portions as whole grain cereals.
  • Favor cereal products low in fat, sugar or salt.

 

Milk and dairy products:

 

  • Drink mil every day (skimmed, 1% or 2% milk fat).
  • Favor low fat dairy products to replace milk.

 

Meat and substitutes:

 

  • Frequently use meat substitutes such as legumes and tofu.
  • Eat at least two fish portions each week.
  • Favor lean meats and substitutes cooked with little or no fat.
Nutritionist in Toulouse: Dr. Frédéric Germain

Maigrir par un suivi médical

Le Docteur Frédéric Germain médecin spécialisé en diététique à Toulouse vous accompagne et vous conseille pour retrouver la ligne et se sentir bien dans votre corps.

 

Face au surpoids, il est important de prendre les choses en main pour perdre les kilos superflus. Une première étape pour ne pas faire n'importe quoi avec sa santé peut être de prendre rendez-vous chez un médecin spécialisé en nutrition. Agissant comme un "coach nutritionnel", ce dernier vous proposera ses conseils en tant que professionnel de santé pour vous aider à atteindre votre objectif de perte de poids. Votre médecin, par le dialogue et ses connaissances médicales, pourra poser un diagnostic du surpoids et vous proposer un suivi personnalisé compte tenu des spécificités de votre sexe, âge, de votre activité etc.

 

Le béaba de la perte de poids passe avant tout par un régime alimentaire équilibré. Qualité et diversité sont les maîtres-mots d'une alimentation saine. Apprendre à mieux se nourrir en composant des menus variés et pauvres en calories. Le plaisir gustatif ne doit surtout pas être altéré, c'est pourquoi il est important de continuer à se faire plaisir sans perdre pour autant son objectif final : maigrir.

 

On accordera un intérêt tout particulier à l'étape du supermarché. En fonction des menus définis par le médecin, on établira scrupuleusement sa liste de courses au préalable. Le choix des aliments détermine le contenu des assiettes, il ne faut donc pas négliger ce point crucial.

 

Évidemment on privilégiera les légumes et les fruits frais pour éviter les carences et faire le plein de vitamines. Ce sont les véritables clés d'un régime minceur, car ils sont très pauvres en calories.

 

De plus, l'hydratation est l'une des clefs d'un régime réussi. La consommation d'eau favorise l'élimination des déchets physiologiques et contribue au bien-être de l'organisme. L’eau est l’élément nutritif le plus important dans le corps humain. Il faut s'hydrater régulièrement tout au long de la journée. En cas de fringale, le fait de boire un grand verre d'eau permet d'amoindrir la sensation de faim.

 

Et puis il n'y a pas de secret : pour maigrir, il faut bouger. L'activité physique favorise la réussite de l'amaigrissement. En plus de tonifier le corps et d'améliorer les performances cardiaques, la pratique d'un exercice physique régulier va permettre de brûler des calories. Les activités prolongées sont à privilégier plutôt que les efforts brefs et intenses. La natation, le jogging, le cyclisme ou la marche rapide constituent d'excellents brûle-graisses.

 

"Tout vient à point à qui sait attendre" : il faut s'armer de patience tout au long du régime, les efforts finiront par payer. Un régime n'est pas une course de vitesse, il est préférable de maigrir progressivement plutôt que de céder aux sirènes des régimes draconiens qui font reprendre du poids aussi vite qu'on en a perdu. Le plus important est de stabiliser sa perte de poids et de conserver durablement un mode de vie sain.

Les causes de la prise de poids

LaDe nombreuses personnes hommes et femmes sont confrontés à des problèmes de prise de poids. Les femmes y souvent plus sensibles car elles sont généralement plus soucieuses de leur apparence que les hommes.

 

Dans la vie d'une femme, plusieurs facteurs peuvent engendrer une prise de poids spontanée. Avant de chercher à combattre ces kilos superflus, il faut d'abord comprendre la cause du surpoids afin d'agir en conséquence. Le rôle du nutritionniste et du diététicien est de déterminer l'origine de la surcharge pondérale pour proposer à sa patiente une solution adaptée.

 

Chez la femme, le rôle des hormones dans la prise de poids est souvent négligé. Pourtant c'est l'une des causes majeures du surpoids féminin. Le corps est assujetti au cycle hormonal : apparition des menstruations, changement de contraceptif, ménopause... toutes ces variations hormonales peuvent peser lourd sur la balance. En l'occurrence, la ménopause est une période particulièrement difficile car elle s'accompagne souvent d'une prise de poids. De même, les femmes sujettes à des dérèglements hormonaux souffrent souvent de surcharge pondérale.

 

D'autres facteurs comme la prise de contraceptif ou une grossesse peuvent impacter la silhouette. En outre, certaines pilules contraceptives ont non seulement une influence sur le cycle hormonal mais aussi sur l'appétit.

 

Indéniablement, la grossesse entraîne une prise de poids et la venue de bébé modifie le corps. Parfois, les femmes cèdent à un certain laisser-aller alimentaire durant leur grossesse et prennent plus de kilos qu'elles ne le devraient. S'il est vrai que le poids des grossesses varie considérablement d'une femme à une autre, il est néanmoins primordial de ne pas se laisser aller d'un point de vue nutritionnel. Il ne faut surtout pas hésiter à solliciter son nutritionniste pendant la grossesse, ce dernier aidera la patiente à adopter un régime alimentaire équilibré tout en surveillant sa courbe de poids.

 

Enfin, pour comprendre une prise de poids soudaine ou croissante, il faut souvent se pencher sur nos assiettes.

 

L'alimentation joue un rôle déterminant sur la balance. Pauses déjeuner trop courtes, stress, malbouffe, plats cuisinés...tant de facteurs qui nuisent à notre alimentation. Une alimentation déséquilibrée conduit inévitablement à une prise de poids. Sans tomber dans l'excès avec les régimes draconiens, il est fondamental d'apprendre à bien manger pour garder la forme physique et mentale. Faire appel dans ce cas à un diététicien permet de rééquilibrer ses habitudes alimentaires pour retrouver la ligne.

 

Un changement de mode de vie peut également être à l'origine de kilos en trop. A l'arrêt du sport, il existe un risque de prise de poids lié à une baisse des dépenses caloriques. Pour pallier à cela, il est indispensable de moduler son alimentation pour réduire les apports énergétiques et les mettre en adéquation avec la dépense. La pratique régulière d'une activité sportive empêche le stockage des graisses et aide à garder la ligne.

 

D'autres facteurs ont un retentissement physique sur notre corps : un échec professionnel, une frustration ou bien encore un sentiment de culpabilité peuvent entraîner une hausse de l'appétit. Une prise de poids peut donc aussi provenir de problèmes psychologiques. Dans ce cas, une psychothérapie peut aider à mieux contrôler ses pulsions et ses envies de manger fréquemment.

 

Parfois, la cause est génétique : la tendance à prendre de l'embonpoint peut être en partie liée à l'hérédité. Ainsi, certaines personnes auront plus de difficultés que d'autres à maigrir ou seront plus enclines à grossir.

 

Enfin, les régimes "express" successifs génèrent une prise de poids cyclique : ce sont les kilos "yo-yo". Véritables ennemis pour la balance comme pour la santé, ils résultent de régimes drastiques qui se traduisent par une perte de poids fulgurante mais non pérenne.

 

Outre ses effets néfastes sur la santé, la surcharge pondérale s'accompagne de symptômes physiques disgracieux comme le relâchement de la peau ou bien encore par l'apparition de cellulite, cauchemar de toutes les femmes.

 

Si certaines femmes sont sujettes plus que d'autres à la prise de poids, ce n'est cependant pas une fatalité. Le rôle du médecin nutritionniste en tant que professionnel de la santé, est de vous aider à retrouver un poids idéal de manière durable grâce à des solutions adaptées.

 

Le Docteur Frédéric Germain médecin nutritionniste à Toulouse, diplomé du diplôme inter universitaire de nutrition vous reçoit à son cabinet pour une consulation personnalisée.

En savoir plus

La micro-nutrition
La diététique

Les aliments bons pour notre corps

Le Docteur Frédéric Germain à Toulouse est diplomé du diplôme inter universitaire de nutrition. Il présente les grandes lignes d'une alimentation équilibrée pour mieux se nourrir et perdre du poids.

Certains aliments sont à privilégier durant le régime. Ils favorisent la perte de poids, empêchent les carences et présentent beaucoup de bienfaits pour la santé.

 

Depuis peu, les "alicaments" investissent les étales des supermarchés. Néologisme résultant de la combinaison du mot "aliment" et "médicament", l'alicament est riche en nutriments. Il existe des alicaments industriels issus de l'agro-alimentaire comme les produits enrichis en oméga-3 ou les yaourts au bifidus par exemple. Mais on trouve également beaucoup d'alicaments naturels dont leurs vertus sur la santé a été scientifiquement prouvé : l'oignon, le chou-fleur, la tomate, le soja, le jus de canneberge et le miel en font par exemple partie.

 

Pour combattre la surcharge pondérale tout en évitant les coups de pompes, consommez des aliments riches en vitamines, en minéraux (calcium, magnésium etc.) et en oligo-éléments (fer, iode etc.) : brocolis, poivrons, choux de Bruxelles, melons, abricots, raisins, carottes, noix, germes de blé, yaourts 0%...

 

De même, les omégas 3, naturellement présents dans les huiles végétales (de noix, de lin, de colza ...), les fruits secs et les poissons gras, comme le saumon ou le maquereau sont vivement recommandés. Très utilisés dans le régime méditerranéen, ils procurent une sensation de satiété juste après le repas.

 

En plus de leurs multiples bénéfices sur la santé, la plupart de ces aliments sont de véritables partenaires beauté reconnus pour leur pouvoir antioxydant. Une solution miracle contre les cheveux ternes et pour retrouver un teint de pêche. Manger mieux, se sentir bien dans sa peau et retrouver la forme, c’est possible grâce à un accompagnement personnalisé.

Programme alimentaire

Les différents programmes alimentaires prônent des conseils simples pour une vie saine :

 

  • Adopter une alimentation la plus variée possible ou tous les groupes d'aliments sont représentés.
  • Apprendre à manger moins sucré mais aussi moins salé car le sel augmente la sensation de faim.
  • Une consommation réduite de sel permet de réduire les risques d'accidents cardiovasculaires.
  • Faire 3 véritables repas par jour avec une collation l’après-midi si possible.
  • Prendre un véritable petit-déjeuner qui doit apporter au moins 20% de la ration calorique quotidienne.
  • Prendre de préférence un repas plus léger le soir. Celui-ci ne devrait pas représenter plus de 30% des calories de la journée.
  • Privilégier les fibres alimentaires qui réduisent l’appétit et favorisent le contrôle des calories. Il est recommandé de consommer de 25 à 35 gr de fibres par jour (3 fruits, 4 légumes, 5 produits céréaliers à grains entiers).
  • Savoir choisir ses aliments. Il est recommandé de consommer du poisson, au minimum 2 à 3 fois par semaine, des crudités et des légumes à chaque repas. Viande et poisson pouvant être remplacés par des œufs ou du fromage à un repas. Les protéines doivent constituer la partie consistante d’un repas parce que ce sont elles qui rassasient le mieux et fournissent une énergie stable. Pour perdre du poids sans s’affamer, les protéines devraient représenter au moins 20% des calories totales.
  • Consommer au minimum 5 portions de fruits et de légumes, frais, surgelés ou en conserve par jour. Ils sont faibles en calories et remplis d’antioxydants, de fibres et d’eau et ont un fort pouvoir rassasiant.
  • Consommer également des produits laitiers au moins 3 fois par jour sous forme de lait, de yaourts ou de fromages.
  • Réduire les quantités en ne se servant qu'une fois et apprendre à ne pas se resservir plusieurs fois.
  • Boire en quantité suffisante soit 1 litre à 1,5 litre de liquide par jour sous forme d'eau, d'infusion ou de bouillon de légumes.
  • Limiter les boissons alcoolisées et sucrées qui apportent une grande quantité de calories.
  • Pratiquer une activité physique régulière. Une activité physique même modérée aide à brûler ces calories superflues.

 

Au niveau des habitudes à prendre, il est conseillé : de se peser une fois par semaine en utilisant la même balance dans les mêmes conditions, d’éviter de sauter les repas, de manger en ne faisant que cela et en prenant le temps de mastiquer. En effet, la durée de mastication joue un rôle important lors de la digestion.

 

S'alimenter tranquillement et sans stress permet de redécouvrir ou de découvrir les aliments avec un plaisir plus intense et d'avaler ainsi moins de quantité, tout en ayant envoyé un signal de satiété à l'organisme. En cas de régime, il est important d’informer son médecin de sa volonté de perdre du poids et du régime choisi. En effet, celui-ci vous évitera de faire certaines erreurs et vous aidera à effectuer ce régime en déterminant le nombre de calories à consommer chaque jour afin de vous éviter de vous sentir sur votre faim au cours de la journée. Etre bien rassasié signifie que les besoins caloriques du repas ont été bien couverts.

 

Quelques conseils par groupe d’aliments

 

Légumes et fruits :

 

  • Manger au moins un légume vert foncé et un légume orangé par jour.
  • Choisir des légumes et des fruits préparés avec peu, de matières grasses, de sucre ou de sel.
  • Préférer des légumes et des fruits aux jus.

 

Produits céréaliers :

 

  • Consommer au moins la moitié des portions de produits céréaliers sous forme de grains entiers.
  • Choisir des produits céréaliers plus faibles en lipides, en sucre ou en sel.

 

Laits et substituts :

 

  • Boire du lait chaque jour (écrémé, 1 % M.G. ou 2 % M.G.).
  • Choisir des substituts du lait, plus faibles en matières grasses.

 

Viandes et substituts :

 

  • Consommer souvent des substituts de la viande, comme des légumineuses.
  • Consommer au moins deux portions de poisson chaque semaine.
  • Choisir des viandes maigres et des substituts préparés avec peu, ou pas du tout, de matières grasses.
Médecin nutritionniste à Toulouse : docteur Frédéric Germain